Thursday, October 12, 2023


Set your turbo engines to full speed ahead! When Frozen Tears released their Brazen Whisper album in late-2021, the Melbourne-based melodic hard rock outfit found themselves winning rave reviews and conquering the hard rock radio charts all across the globe. Fans of bands like KISS, Whitesnake, Dokken and other classic rock acts lapped up the album’s spirit, power, and positive energy, something which was sorely needed in a world still dealing with a pandemic and lingering lockdowns.

In the wake of its success, and to appease those who have been eagerly awaiting the follow-up to Brazen Whisper, Frozen Tears have reissued their 1997 album Silence of the Night in a new special edition that is certain to not only please existing fans of the band, but lure in a whole new audience with its tasty serving of rock candy for the ears.

Long out of print and highly sought after by fans and collectors, Frozen Tears’ core duo of Thanis Akritidis (lead vocals) and Jon Powers (guitars, keyboard, bass) have gone the extra mile in ensuring their new edition of Silence in the Night not only retains the spirit of the original release, but significantly improves upon its sonics.

Six of the tracks have been newly remixed and remastered with Jon Powers adding more fuel with extra guitars and keyboards to the remixed tracks, while the remaining four have been remastered, with Arkansas producer/engineer Tÿ Sïms doing a superb job on all fronts. Sïms’ work really brings a new freshness to the album’s sound, bringing it more up to date and adding an extra degree of oomph to its overall power. The new mixes and mastering also provide a lot of clarity to the vocals and instrumentation, allowing them to breathe more.

Akritidis’ commanding and impassioned vocals, and Powers’ impressive multi-talents, combine well with a tight, steady backbeat to make the songs soar with an infectious exuberance. Drumming duties on the album are split between Bernie Goldstein, who performs on the six remixed numbers, and Steve Sisma. And while Andy Parson’s original production job has been given a more modern sheen, Silence in the Night is still an unabashed celebration of classic hard rock and AOR sounds from the 1970s and 80s. “Let Down” powers along with a terrifically sleazy riff that melds classic Ratt and Motley Crue, highlighted by a crisp and expressive guitar solo, before it breaks down into some more melodic touches and keyboard highlights, adding an additional pleasing layer to the song, which must surely rank up there as one of the band’s best.

Elsewhere, songs like the title track, "Silence of the Night", show a softer side of the band, with its power ballad aesthetics and emotional vocals, while “One More Time” builds slowly from a chugging acoustic guitar riff and pleading vocal delivery. Other standout tracks include the grand synth-infused rock of “Warriors”, and “Do You Love Me”, which is not a cover of the KISS classic but rather a rework of a song dating back to Akritidis’ early-eighties band, Knight. It’s another impressive, big balladic number which opens with spoken word dialogue and ends with some moody keyboards reminiscent of vintage Deep Purple.

Sharing the bulk of the songwriting credits, Akritidis and Powers exude a potent chemistry and prove to be a fine collaborative pair, melding both their individual and their shared musical influences to create a hybrid that pays clear tribute and respect to the music they love, while also melding to create its own sound, the distinctly Frozen Tears sound. As the band’s prime instrumentalist, Jon Powers deserves specific mention for the range of skills he displays across the album, his fluid playing exhibiting power, delicacy, and atmosphere, often combining all three in the one musical passage.

Topping off this Deluxe Turbo Edition of Silence of the Night is a brand-new track, the exhilarating “Feel the Fire”, which opens the album and is sure to become a new fan favourite and instant classic, with its compelling mix of Diver Down-era Van Halen and KISS circa Crazy Nights.

Accompanied by a stunning new piece of cover art, provided by Jon Powers himself, Frozen Tears once again seem bound for worldwide recognition within the melodic rock community, and Silence of the Night: Deluxe Turbo Edition will hopefully cast their net even further and a limited yellow vinyl pressing which record collectors will surely lap up.

Full track listing:

1: “Feel the Fire”
2: “Let Down”
3: “Silence of the Night”
4: “Will I Ever”
5: “Do You Love Me”
6: “One More Time”
7: “It’s Over”
8: “Love Can Be Real” (Piano Mix)
9: “Warriors”
10: “Wounded Man”
11: “Fire Still Burns for You” Check out Frozen Tears on Facebook HERE!